QueryTracker Blog

Helping Authors Find Literary Agents

Saturday, May 9, 2009

Pitch Contest begins Monday


Our next agent-judged contest begins this Monday, May 11th, at midnight Mountain Time (11:00 pm Pacific, 1:00 am Central, 2:00 am Eastern.)

The contest is being judged by Brendan Deneen of FinePrint Lit. It is a one-line pitch contest.

Joanna Stampfel-Volpe judged the last one and posted a "how to" article about one-line pitches on the blog. Click here to read her advice on writing an effective pitch.

The contest begins on Monday, May 11th at 12:01 a.m., MST and runs until 11:59 p.m.--24 hours. Mr. Deneen has not set a cap, so you don't need to wait up until midnight to be sure your entry is one of the first. The contest will not end until midnight on the 11th. Please pitch only one project. You can submit any time during that 24 hours via our online submission form. (A free QueryTracker.net membership is necessary to use the form.) Only entries received through the online form will be accepted. Please do not email your entries.

Mr. Deneen wants to receive pitches for the following genres only: Young adult science-fiction, young adult fantasy, young adult thriller, young adult horror, or ADULT thriller. (This includes sub-genres, like urban fantasy, steampunk, cyberpunk, paranormal. All these fall under fantasy).

Entering the contest does not make you ineligible to query Mr. Deneen. If you don't win, it is not a rejection. Please check out his profile on QueryTracker before you query for a full listing of his represented genres other than those included in this contest.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask them in the comments or email Mary or Suzette using the email link in the sidebar to the right.

Good luck everybody!


Suzette Saxton's idea of a perfect day includes a picnic lunch, laughing children, and her laptop. When she's not writing books for kids, Suzette can be found gardening, doing finish carpentry in her home, or walking in the canyon in which she lives.







Mary Lindsey writes paranormal fiction for children and adults. Prior to attending University of Houston Law School, she received a B.A. in English Literature with a minor in Drama.

Mary can also be found on her website.

1 comment:

Stina Lindenblatt said...

Thanks to Joanna's post, I've got a great new one line pitch . . . for the first draft of my newest YA paranormal novel. Maybe next year!

Can't wait to read the winning entries.